Novels

WTABTGS Chapter 9: Final Chapter

< Previous Chapter | Table of Contents |Our other novels


         Initially, I thought I would be happy and relieved when this was over. Yay! First novel that we completely translated and posted. But somehow I have a bitter taste in my mouth, some things are still unclear ah~~~. At the same time I feel sad for these two star crossed lovers… sigh. Still, though I feel a part of something is lost in me, the relief is still there XD, with the end of this weird and sad novel, we can concentrate on our other two wonderful novels and complete them. My eyes are greedy, they look at other novels to pick up, but thankfully, my lovely partner as well as my brain still override my greedy heart.  Anyway, enjoy the last chapter of WTABTGS, if you are not sure of any part, please don’t ask me XP.


Willing to Accompany by the Gentleman’s Side

Chapter IX

fireflies_by_secretforkeeps_d2de12r-fullviewImage credit all to SecretForKeepers

Please read this at the original translation site, BloomingTranslation. You can find us through Novelupdates or if you browse a little. Not at lightnoveldotsomething, not at novelplanet, if it doesn’t have bloomingtranslation in the url it means you are reading a stolen version of this translation. Please support us by reading at our site. We are truly not asking for much.

 

In the summit of Mount Cang.

“Yi Xun, still not ready to move!”

Yi Xun and Ling stood together beside a cliff. Behind them was a bottomless abyss. 

“Ling.” Yi Xun opened his mouth: “In a moment, I’ll use the ancient secret method to send you to another world. But it’s my first time using this secret method. I don’t know whether it will work or not. In the end, it’s a gamble.”

“If we win in this gamble, we got this life, if we lose in this gamble,” Yi Xun paused for a moment, gazing towards the abyss behind him, then he smiled, “We are going to stay here for a long time.”

“I don’t have any problem, how about you?”

“Don’t worry, at the final moment, I am going to separate my soul from the body and live inside you.”

“……. Obviously, I must protect you.”

Yi Xun rubbed his head, “it has not been long since you were born, waiting until your internal ability rises is still not too late. In any case, at the moment, you just received a serious injury and need to rest well.”

“Ah Xun…….”

Yi Xun had not opened his mouth yet when the seal in the middle of his hands rapidly connected to the ground with him and Ling standing in the center of it. A complicated magic array rose up.

Following the gradual completion of the array, thunder and lightning sounded from the sky, causing the surrounding crowd to become terrified. They went further away one after the other.   

“What is he actually doing?! To actually go as far as attracting the nine heavenly lightning!” 

“Withdraw, everyone quickly withdraw! It’s not possible for us to wait and have our bodies buried jut like this!”

Yi Xun’s complexion slowly turned pale. While brandishing a magic device to resist the heavenly lightning from the sky, he spoke to Ling: “Ling, go quickly. I cannot resist for too long.”

“Ah Xun…….”

Yi Xun’s state of mind was unstable and he spat out blood. He saw Ling’s body gradually become transparent and he cut his soul so it could be released from his body.

“Ling, if there is a next life, I will definitely find you.”

“Ah Xun!”

¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤

“Ling, are you okay? Do you have a fever?”

Ling slowly opened his eyes. Appearing right in front of his eyes was precisely that familiar face.

This was his master.

Fortunately, all his effort didn’t go to waste. At last, he could see him one more time. Only, his time was not long.

Ling wiped the cold sweat on his forehead and smilingly replied: “Nothing, I just had a nightmare.”

The little Yi Xun doubtfully said: “Mountain gods also get nightmares?”

“Of course they do, or else, what do you think?”

“I got it.” THe little Yi Xun pulled Ling’s hand and walked towards the altar. “Follow me, today is your birthday. I have prepared a nice surprise for you.”

“Oh? What is it?”

“Soon you will know, close your eyes first.”

“Ok.” Ling slowly closed his eyes and let Yi Xun pull his hand to go forward. When he opened his eyes again, a lot of green dots appeared in front of his eyes and surrounded them. 

“What are these? They can actually send out lights, how magical!”

“You don’t know? These are fireflies. They come out at night in the summer. I knew you were going to like it.”

“Ah Xun, thank you. I like it very much.”

“I’m happy if you are happy.” After speaking, Yi Xun stood on his tiptoes and kissed Ling’s forehead, “Ling, I like you, like you a lot. Let’s be happy together okay?” 

“Ah Xun, I…….”

“Ling, please take pity on me.” Small Yi Xun blinked his eyes, while speaking like a spoiled kid. 

Ling looked straight at Yi Xun’s face. After a long while he sighed: “Wait until you grow up, we’ll talk about it again, ok?”

“OK.”

Ling saw that Yi Xun still looked a bit unhappy and pinched his cheek, “Stop being unhappy already, today is my birthday, if you are not happy, I will be angry.”

“I am not unhappy, Ling, I like you the most.”

 ¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤¤

“Ling, go quickly!” Yi Xun tightly pulled Ling’s hand and avoided the area where the fire was raging. Then ran towards the altar. 

He should not have taken Ling to go down the mountain. If he had not taken Ling to go down the mountain, the back of the mountain would not catch fire. 

They should not have left the altar.

Ling looked at the large fire in front of him,  which had gotten more and more violent, and murmured: “So actually, the price of me leaving the altar is this?”

“Ling, be careful!”

Ling felt a force pushing him, his body became unsteady and he almost fell.

“Ah Xun!” Ling saw how Yi Xun was hit by a tree and laid on the ground as his sight turned black.

Why!

Why is the outcome still like this!

Over and over again, he looked for Yi Xun’s reincarnation. Yet every time, he always saw Yi Xun dying in front of him.

While him, he was powerless.

Yi Xun let out a light sound: “Ling…….”

In Ling’s eyes flashed a gleam of light. He promptly ran to Yi Xun’s front and pulled him from under the tree. Then carried Yi Xun on his back and walked towards the altar. 

“Ah Xun, you will be okay, I will definitely make you be okay.”

This time, I must bring him back to life.

I must.

“Ling……. Do you know, when I……. the first time I saw you, I felt very familiar with you. I immediately liked you. It could be said……. cough cough, me towards you, it’s not just like. Ling, I love you.”

“Shut up, don’t say these parting words.”

Yi Xun leaned against Ling’s back, a faint smile could be seen in the corner of his lips. In a place that he could not see, a blush appeared on both of Ling’s cheeks.  

Ling placed Yi Xun flatly in front of the altar while he himself sat cross-legged by his side. A ball of weak green light appeared in the middle of his hand and he moved it towards Yi Xun. Soon, the ball of green light entered Yi Xun’s body.

This was the energy from nature, as well as his source of life. 

Following his loss of life source, Ling’s complexion gradually turned pale. 

After a long while, Ling withdrew his hand, reluctantly got up and stood on the altar. 

“Ah Xun, wait for the time when you remember everything, I will be here waiting for you.”

Done saying his sentence, Ling soon disappeared from the place he was standing at, 

Absent-mindedly, Ling recalled the first time he met Yi Xun.

“Are you willing to go with me, to accompany me to look closely at the many different living things on this earth?”

Ling, who had just come into the world, saw a man laughing gently in front of him. Putting his hand on the other person’s hand, he made a lifetime promise.

“OK.”

 I wished to be with the gentleman, to accompany him by his side, never separating.

 


And with this, Willing to Accompany by the Gentleman’s Side concludes. It was a weird novel, unlike most of the novels I read I could not predict at all where it would be heading towards. It turned out, Ling and Yi Xun where not just childhood friends (or more than friends), but they had a much deeper connection, and Ling had persistently accompanied by Yi Xun’s side throughout all his reincarnations, painfully watching him die every time. Apparently (or that’s how I see it) Ling first met Yi Xun when he was just ‘born’ as a god/spiritual being, and made a promise to stay by his side (I’m not sure if Yi Xun ‘created’ or ‘summoned’ Ling and that’s why he is his master, it appears like Yi Xun was like a shaman in their first lifetime). But due to some accident, Ling was heavily injured and Yi Xun had to send him to ‘another world’, possibly the future(?) as Ling remained sealed or sth as he was healing… Later on, Ling kept meeting Yi Xun’s reincarnations, and he kept losing him… until he decided he wouldn’t watch him die aymore, and so gave his life energy to safe him, which made him disappear from this world… I wonder if this chapter shows us the memories that flashed in front of Ling’s eyes right before disappearing… this was a bittersweet story, maybe cannot be called tragedy but it was sad nonetheless… I would have loved to see a bit more of their lifetime’s together…

Replying to Lime’s comment ont top, as much as I’d love to pick up other novels (and she makes very seductive proposals), I know Lime is already quite exhausted and busy irl so I don’t think it’s prudent to let her overwork herself… me too, I have quite a lot in my plate as well, and I have even neglected my translations in my other site so I kinda want to get back to it… but I just don’t know where I’ll get the time to! rn I should be reading those science papers orz But anything she picks up I will surely edit! I hope you enjoyed this story^^ You are always welcome to check our other novels as well, so go and take a look ^^


< Previous Chapter | Table of Contents |Our other novels

2 thoughts on “WTABTGS Chapter 9: Final Chapter”

  1. It seems to me that there may be many different interpretations of the overall events in this story. One that popped into my head is what if Ling is a fragment of Ah Xun’s own soul that he cut off to protect his village and people? His question to Ling at the very end was an allusion to Ling being with his various incarnations through the ages until each died. But due to Ah Xun having an incomplete soul, he would always die young. Eventually Ling couldn’t watch him die over and over and fused most of the power his portion of the soul had back into the original soul to help it live on. But it was only enough to add a little more than 10 years to his life. So at the end of the story, timeline wise, Ling relinquishes the remaining power to bring Ah Xun back to a normal soul.
    To me, that would represent a life sacrificed over and over to protect what he held most dear while the literal other half of him did the protecting and for the praises of the villagers but had to watch these events happen over and over. Sort of an allegory to love between two people and how they make sacrifices for each other for an external entity or person (parents (Ah Xun and Ling) sacrificing for their children (the village) and the pain and happiness the parents experience from that. Seeing the children “thrive” brings happiness but the cost can be high.).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment