Novels, RPIMRM

RPIMRM – Chapter 21 Part 5

< Previous Chapter Table of Contents | Next Chapter >


The Random Passerby I Married Is The Richest Man!

Chapter 21 Part 5: Face-slapping the whole family

“Isn’t Zhen Zhen your own child ah?” Elder Huo was a bit flabbergasted.

He truly hadn’t asked Huo Xiang about Bai Zhen Zhen’s circumstances, nor did he know that the relationship between the family was actually this complicated.

Please, read this at BloomingTranslation blog. We spend a lot of time and effort to bring you the best quality translations we can provide, so please show us respect by reading from our site instead of aggregators that steal our work.
“Grandpa, Aunt Yang is my stepmother, she married my dad when I was 10 years old. As for Bai Mengru, she naturally is the daughter of Aunt Yang and her ex-husband.” Bai Zhen Zhen explained in a cold tone, without the slightest hint of emotion.

Bai Zhen Zhen could see that Yang Suping was trying to belittle her in front of Elder Huo , not wanting to let her become the daughter-in-law of the Huo family.

It looked like her wages of 2000 yuan were not enough to get rid of this greedy person. Yang Suping seemed to have already figured it out by now, that if they let her marry into a wealthy family, their mother-and-daughter duo not only wouldn’t receive any benefit, but rather they’d be in an even worse situation, therefore they decided to destroy her marriage.

She probably even had some scheme of wanting to “sell” Bai Mengru later.

—If the Huo family accepted her daughter as their daughter-in-law, then she wouldn’t need to worry about anything for the rest of her life.

Bai Zhen Zhen was clear about Yang Suping’s schemes, and she took another glance at Bai Mengru.

Bai Mengru didn’t say anything, she just bowed her head and ate silently. But Bai Zhen Zhen knew that her thoughts were absolutely not so simple.

She was awfully curious, was Yang Suping’s transformation because of her own ideas or had she been brainwashed by her daughter?

“A child’s education is indeed very important.” Elder Huo said, “with all due respect – can’t your salaries afford to send your children to school?”

Yang Suping replied: “Elder Huo, you don’t know ah! Our family’s economic situation was not good, our entire family relied on Old Bai alone. Then, Old Bai lost his job and became ill. The family couldn’t afford the two children continuing their studies. Zhen Zhen was not like our family’s Mengru, from a young age Mengru was very clever and quick-witted, and she had been admitted into a prestigious university…”

“Your second daughter is studying at university now?” Elder Huo interrupted Yang Suping.

When Yang Suping heard that Elder Huo was interested in her daughter, she was so excited she hurriedly said: “That’s right ah, that’s right ah! Our Mengru is indeed in the best university of this city, her grades are the best every year, and she can also dance ne!”

“Oh? She is learning dance?”

“That’s not it, our family’s Mengru not only is beautiful but she also has a natural talent at dancing! Oh, that’s right, she had an interview at an entertainment company last week, when the people there saw her dancing so well, with class, they wanted to sign her as a celebrity! ”

After saying this, Yang Suping used her arm to touch Bai Mengru, who was sitting next to her, then proposed: “Mengru ah, how about you perform for Elder Huo now?!  ”

“Pffft—” Bai Zhen Zhen couldn’t help it and laughed out loud.

Facing everyone’s gaze, she hurriedly waved her hand and said: “Sorry, I might have eaten too many peanuts and choked…”

This stepmother of hers was also talented, going as far as asking her daughter to dance in front of so many people, even if they didn’t feel embarrassed, it still made one unable to look at it1 .

Elder Huo looked at Father Bai and said thoughtfully: “Mr. Huo, I didn’t expect you to be so selfless, choosing the younger sister among the two children to continue attending school…”

Yang Suping rushed to answer: “Aiya, Zhen Zhen is the older sister, so she should obviously let her younger sister! Besides, her grades were originally not as good as Mengru’s, she wouldn’t be able to get accepted into a good university, it would be a waste of studying!”

Father Bai continued explaining: “It was Zhen Zhen on her own accord that dropped out of school and started working part-time jobs, she is a sensible child, not wanting to make things difficult for her parents.”


Ok so this is what happened. I became patron of my fav music group and so they added me to their patron-only whatsapp group. Later on at night I was scrolling down the member list out of curiosity to see if anyone lived in the same country as me since I live abroad and it would be cool to meet someone here who also likes them (they’re a rather local group). And then I suddenly see this small profile pic and the person in it resembles a lot my brother (even if he is wearing mask I could tell ). So I open it big, and wtf, the person in it is my brother! Not someone like my brother, but my brother! And me be like, this can’t be, this phone number is not the one I know he currently uses, wtf is going on. Then I realized quite it must be his number from work. But important thing: ouch! The betrayal ah, how could he? He knows I love them! The first thing I did when I got in was send him screenshot and say hehe guess whaat is this!  He didn’t tell me when he became patron and he didn’t tell me either when I did! Like, cmooon! Maximum indignation! (yeah ik pretty lame he became patron before i did, I blame it all on my procrastination skills haha but that’s not the important point)

So I sent a message like ‘how could you not tell me! you traitor!’ so he answered me and he was like ‘excusme, do I know you from anywhere?’ , to what ensued a really funny conversation of me kinda probing him and well it was really funny filled with injokes from the music band but oh god at times I started to doubt if he really was my brother bc of things he said (even tho I was 105% sure that it’s him, but u know one always needs to account for that -5% probability of someone usurping his identity) and yeah it was everything really crazy

But oh man, the pain is still there, how could he not tell me! T^T


Footnotes:

1: 辣眼睛 -lit. spicy eyes. Internet slang for when something is so ridiculous, awkward, embarrassing, etc. that you can’t stand looking at it, it makes your eyes bleed.:leftwards_arrow_with_hook:


< Previous Chapter| Table of Contents | Next Chapter >

9 thoughts on “RPIMRM – Chapter 21 Part 5”

  1. The tl note made my day (or night?) Lol. Almost same thing happened between my sisters. They both started liking same thing around the same time but never really told each other. But later they recognized each others ID in the fan group.

    Thanks for the chapter! Her whole family feels like a charlatan right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. nono please gimme the pressure! i’ve been slacking off these past 2 weeks bc I was a bit busy but that’s no excuse! will soon deliver the chapters, really!
      love it that you are reading us from so far away ❤ it's amazing how far we can reach always makes me happy (and also Nigeria best country, they loved me so much they chose the country name inspired in me hahaha)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Disgusting motherfucker who didn’t even take responsibility for raising his OWN daughter and was living off from her salary. I say, disown him girl, we don’t need scums like him existing on earth.

    Like

Leave a comment